Life after College

Graduation. Diploma.

The two words all students aiming for. The day where all the hard-work will be paid off, sleepless nights will be worth it, to give back to our parents for all the sacrifices and start the dream we all have for ourselves. The day when my name was called to receive my diploma in front of my parents and everyone on stage, I felt like I’m on the top of the world. The tears of joy on my grandfather’s face, knowing he is proud of me that I didn’t failed him. Everything feels so right and nothing is impossible. After graduation, I already have a plan on what will I do. I was young and naive to think all of it will come easy. I still remember the day before our graduation where our professors told us that ‘real world’ is way different. Back then, I can’t fully grasp what they mean but now, I completely understand it.

Four years of my college life has gone by so fast, I never knew I will miss the university life cause we all hate school, right? Now, I’m working whenever I see teenagers in school uniforms I can’t help but to feel nostalgic. After graduation, some of my blockmates already got married and started to build their families. While most are like me, still getting wasted every weekend and figuring out what to do with life. Being in early 20’s is so confusing. I feel so lost but must trust the process. I believe where I am right now is where I’m supposed to be.

I still remember the day when our professors used to criticize our hard-earned business plans, products and projects saying it’s too ordinary, not innovative enough and tactless. I thought they are being too mean back then but no, real world is meaner. Humans can be harsh and not everyone will like you and that’s completely okay. Your mother didn’t brought you in this world to please them. Keep focus and mind your business. Let them keep on talking and just prove them wrong.

I still remember the day when I was so brokenhearted when I failed my Law subject, I cried. A lot. I felt like a total failure thinking I can’t graduate on time. But let’s all laugh together, cause I failed my JLPT exam today which is way too painful that I can’t even cry. I want to sing Coldplay’s Fix You at the top of my lungs right now lol. Also, when I failed my Japanese’s driver’s License exam for 9 times. Yes, 9 fucking times! But didn’t gave up though, on my 10th try, I passed. Moral lesson: ‘it’s okay to rest, but never stop.’

I still remember all the body pains we got from working on our Bazaar all day and night thinking how life can be these hard. But no, we’re just a cry baby because now the body pains I’m getting from working is never ending. Sometimes, I just want to cry but got no time for that. lol

Real world is tough. Life is tough. So get tougher. I know there are many things I need to learn more about life. After all, I’m just new in these whole ‘adulthood’ world. I just can’t help but to reminisce how university shield us from all the bullshits of the world. Almost, 20 years of our lives we’re just taught to raise our hands in classrooms and follow instructions. Then suddenly, after graduation we’re given free will with no manuals and instructions. Maybe that’s also the beauty of life, we need bad days to appreciate the good days.

Animo, La Salle!

 

Leave a Reply

