Stereotyping among Filipina?

Disclaimer: The content of this post are solely based on my opinions, experience and views. It doesn’t speak for everyone else.

Before I leave Philippines, I bid farewell to my friends when they knew I’m going to Japan they all exclaimed: ‘Mag-Japayuki ka?! (are you going to work as Japayuki!?)’ I rolled my eyes.

I searched on google what ‘Japayuki’ really means, it says it is a slang word of Filipinos for entertainers. Since coming to Japan, I knew that night clubs are completely legal and acceptable. Though, I don’t really have any idea what they actually do. I was even surprised when I went to Osaka, there are different types of clubs you can choose from. There are high-end night clubs where the girls are really pretty and look sophisticated. There are also where the girls are all chubby and fat, maybe for customers whose fetish are big women. R18 clubs, I don’t know what they showcase there. Also, entertainers here are not all women, even Japanese men do this kind of work! It was my first time to saw that kind of night club. I was blown away how big these industry is.

So back to my sentiments, I have nothing against ‘Japayuki’. I knew one Filipina who worked as one before and she’s been so nice to me like an older sister. But what I hate is the insensitive comments I’ve heard from some ‘Japayuki’. I can’t count how many times I’ve been asked if I don’t really want to work as one by co-Filipina.

‘You know you’re such a waste. You’re young and beautiful you can make a lot of money at the club.’

‘You know what go with me! I will teach you.’

‘You really don’t want to work at club? It’s easy money.’

‘Convince her. She can make a lot of money there.’

Seriously, those are really rude and insensitive. I hate the fact that I have to explain myself everytime I encounter such comments. I never experience working at night club and never will I. It all runs down to personal choice. Even though, I know it’s easy money it is something against my morals and values. We all have different upbringing and beliefs. If you can’t understand, just respect and keep your mouth shut. Also, people not all Filipina that work in Japan are entertainers. There are teachers, engineers, factory worker and soon nurses. So please, stop stereotyping and educate yourself.

There are also stereotyping just because a Filipina women married Japanese men is because of visa or money. In my previous work at the factory, I received an indecent proposal from old Japanese man asking me to marry him and in exchange, I won’t have to work for the rest of my life. I don’t know if it’s a joke but I find it really disturbing and disrepectful. It was degrading and scary. I was speechless. I want to slap into his face my visa and my car. But on the other hand, for sure there are Filipina women who marries Japanese men for love. Come on, humans. Let’s be nice to each other.

xoxo

Leave a Reply

