OFW Diaries

So my blog today is all about OFW on the point of view of a daughter. For those who doesn’t understand, OFW stands for Overseas Filipino Workers, according to Philippine Statistics Authority there are 2.4 million OFWs as of 2015. So imagine how many Filipino children has no parents? has no husband/wife? has no son/daughter? It’s heartbreaking to know due to poverty in the Philippines, many are forced to work outside the country just to provide for their families. 

Since I was 2 years old, both of my parents had to work abroad. So apparently, I grew up with my grandparents together with my siblings and cousins. I had an awesome childhood cause of my cousins, imagine we’re six children living under one roof. It was instant bestfriends, ‘barkada’ and enemy at the same time. Even up to now that we’re all grown ups, we’re really close and hang out once in a while. It actually felt awkward the first time we have to live together with our parents abroad cause it means we’re going to live in different houses from then on.

What does it feels like to be an OFW’s child? When I was a kid I’m used to it, my parents going and leaving the country. I don’t even remember that I cried when they leave. I didn’t even look for them cause growing up, I am happy and contented with my life. I have grandparents who love me dearly, cousins who are always there for me, friends who truly cares for me. What more should I asked for? But I admit it was still hard, as a kid I just had questions why I don’t have parents during PTA’s at school, why I don’t have a mother who supposed to teach me how to comb my hair, why I have no father to protect me from all the bastard who will promise you all the grandest things in life and turned bullshits. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not angry at them. I completely understand why they had to leave. I just don’t know what to feel for my parents cause my entire life they are not with me physically. I pretty much learned things about life and love the hard way.

At the present, I lived together with my parents here in abroad. The whole adjustment to different country is not a joke. But the most difficult part for me was actually living together with them. I know they are my parents and I am their child, but they don’t truly know who I am. They don’t know what my favorite food is, how lazy I am in the morning and why I don’t like coffee. They don’t know what annoyed me the most and what makes me happy. They don’t know who my bestfriend is. They just completely don’t know me and what’s makes me. You get me,right?

So for the parents planning to leave their child for the greener pastures abroad. Think thrice because you know, you can’t turned back all the lost time you have for your children. I can’t tell my mom who the person I like, when was my heart first broken, when I cried alone at nights. I can’t asked my dad, how to know if a man is serious with me. You know the conversations and wisdom they should give to me. Now that I am an adult, I promised to myself if I ever get married and have children, I won’t leave no matter what. No amount of money can make up for lost time. I will take care of them personally cause I know how hard it is growing up having no parents. I understand life in the Philippines is hard. I’m actually thankful to Japan and my parents cause without them I probably won’t even finished highschool. I even graduated from one of the pretigious universities in the Philippines because of them. They provide everything I need and lived a very comfortable life. I am forever grateful for that. But weigh things, do you really want to be strangers to your own child? I am speaking through experience.

xoxo

Leave a Reply

